History
1885
Italian canned goods conquered the American market
1900
The Luigi Vitelli brand
1919
Luigi initiates the construction of a tomato processing plant
1929
The economic crisis forces the conquest of new markets, among which Belgium
1945
Luigi Vitelli becomes ELVEA
1986
The Charlier Brabo Group takes over the distribution of ELVEA
1992
ELVEA innovates: Cubetti
2001
ELVEA launches a new slogan
2010
ELVEA celebrates its 125th birthday
2013
ELVEA innovates: Pizza a casa
2015
ELVEA is now 130 years old
2016
ELVEA Pop-Up Boutique
2017
Elvea never stopped evolving
2018
Elvea, enjoy Italy
1885
Italian canned goods conquered the American market
Just like many other Italian emigrants, after Italian brothers Luigi and Francesco Vitelli arrived in the United States from their native village of Torre del Greco, they very quickly started to long for the typical food habits and culinary products of their motherland. That is why they started importing canned goods from Southern Italy as early as 1885.

 
1900
The Luigi Vitelli brand
The Luigi Vitelli brand
At the turn of the 20th century, Luigi went back to Italy, thus causing the split of the siblings’ activities with the emergence of the "Francesco Vitelli & figlio" brand on the one hand, and the "Luigi e figli" brand on the other. Then along came the brand "Luigi Vitelli" (that later became ELVEA).


 
1919
Luigi initiates the construction of a tomato processing plant
Luigi initiates the construction of a tomato processing plant
In 1919, Luigi initiated the construction of a small, but nevertheless modern, tomato processing plant close to Portici. A few years later, in 1923, the entire production was moved to an ultra-modern factory in Angri, specialized in canning 'San Marzano' tomatoes. Almost all of the local harvest was processed here, thanks to the hard work of Luigi Vitelli’s sons, Arturo and Giuseppe.
 
1929
The economic crisis forces the conquest of new markets, among which Belgium
The economic crisis forces the conquest of new markets, among which Belgium
High import duties of the United States, a consequence of the economic crisis of 1929, came as a hard blow for the Vitelli brothers. They decided to conquer new markets. Thanks to the high quality of their products, they were able to effectively expand their Italian distribution network. Large quantities of canned goods were exported to Africa and various European countries, including Belgium.
 
1945
Luigi Vitelli becomes ELVEA
Luigi Vitelli becomes ELVEA
In June 1945, “LUIGI VITELLI & sons” was renamed ELVEA s.p.A, an acronym for Luigi Vitelli Angri. It was after the war that the transport company L. Ghemar started distributing and transporting ELVEA tomatoes in Belgium. This success allowed the company to grow and to establish several subsidiaries. One of them, located in Antwerp (Tocofru NV), became the exclusive distributor for the Benelux.
 
1986
The Charlier Brabo Group takes over the distribution of ELVEA
The Charlier Brabo Group takes over the distribution of ELVEA
After the death of Mr. A. Ghemar in 1982, the company initially pursued its activities under the direction of his wife who had the same commercial talent. But when she died in 1986, the company Tocofru NV was taken over by the company Charlier Brabo Group, a family business in full expansion that still manages the distribution of ELVEA products in Belgium today.
 
1992
ELVEA innovates: Cubetti
ELVEA innovates: Cubetti
Then the time came when consumers wanted to be able to quickly prepare natural, healthy and varied meals. ELVEA was quick to propose the ideal solution: ELVEA Cubetti. Various natural ingredients were added to the already famous tomato cubes to flavour them. This new ready-to-use and already seasoned product was there to meet contemporary consumer demands.
 
Currently, ELVEA Cubetti are available in 7 different flavours: garlic, Italian herbs, bell peppers, basil, fresh vegetables, arrabbiata and puttanesca. What could be better to flavour your pasta, pizza, rice, poultry, fish or meat dishes?


 
2001
ELVEA launches a new slogan
Group discussions with "buyers" revealed that ELVEA as a brand lacked popularity, despite the presence of ELVEA on the Belgian market for many years. These same "buyers" admitted, however, that they regularly use "this little blue cans". Based on this reflection, a new slogan was developed by ELVEA: "Your best tomatoes are blue”
 
2010
ELVEA celebrates its 125th birthday
ELVEA celebrates its 125th birthday
In the year 2010, ELVEA celebrated its 125th anniversary. Throughout the year, the brand launched a series of cool actions: ELVEA fans were invited to send a recipe based on the newest ELVEA product, the Polpa di pomodore. The 25 best recipes were compiled into a quality cookbook distributed free of charge to all ELVEA fans who entered the contest. Those who wished could then also get the cookbook through a savings action at the distribution outlets.
 
2013
ELVEA innovates: Pizza a casa
ELVEA innovates: Pizza a casa
The tomato brand didn’t stop innovating, and launched "Pizza a Casa" as the ideal base for a homemade pizza. The new product has since been a huge hit with pizza lovers, big and small alike.
 
2015
ELVEA is now 130 years old
ELVEA is now 130 years old
ELVEA once again celebrated with many cool consumer actions, novelties, but also a brand new website. In 2015, the ELVEA range featured around 40 different products. The result of constant innovation over the years. The 100% Italian brand is therefore unquestionably the "numero uno" in Belgium in the canned tomato category.
 
The 130th anniversary of ELVEA was the perfect occasion to launch the Selezione del Maestro, a limited edition consisting of three superior tomato products with an even more intense and savoury taste. The tomatoes used were lovingly selected and picked under the Italian sun for the most loyal ELVEA fans.
 
2016
ELVEA Pop-Up Boutique
ELVEA Pop-Up Boutique
ELVEA closed out its 130th anniversary festivities in style! In December 2015, the brand opened an exclusive ELVEA Pop-Up Shop in Antwerp's communal party hall. For 3 months, this Boutique was featured in the middle of this splendid shopping mall. The entire existing ELVEA range was available, as was the exclusive ELVEA Selezione del maestro range. This limited-edition range was presented in a luxurious gift package.

 
2017
Elvea never stopped evolving
Elvea never stopped evolving
A brand new design for Elvea labels! 
 
Elvea, the market leader in the tomato category deemed that it was the right time to launch an innovative design. The new labels combined with the logo are striking. The characteristic colours, integrated into the label, bring more subtlety while photos of real products provide a livelier touch. The link with Italy is more obvious and there’s now a reference to our heritage and our tomato master Luigi Vitelli. Furthermore, the brand profiles itself more evenly than ever in the shelves. And did you know that the yellow line on top of our cans evokes the eternally bright Italian sun? Because it is precisely this southern Italian sun that gives your best tomatoes an irresistible full flavour.

 
2018
Elvea, enjoy Italy
Elvea, enjoy Italy
In 2018, the number 1 in tomato preserves wants to make sure that everyone ‘enjoys Italy’, which is also Elvea's new slogan.Elvea is really pulling out all the stops to make the new slogan known.
So no less than Italian njam! TV chef Peppe Giacomazza will now be the ambassador of the tomato brand. But other TV chefs, such as Jeroen Meus and Sandra Bekkari, will be cooking with Elvea in 2018.
The slogan will also be featured on trucks transporting Elvea tomatoes across Belgium, as well as on De Lijn, TEC & STIB / MIVB buses and subways, and on large posters along busy roads.

it nl fr
L'histoire
1885
Les conserves italiennes conquièrent le marché américain
1900
La marque Luigi Vitelli
1919
Luigi démarre la construction d’une usine de transformation de tomates
1929
La crise économique force la conquête de nouveaux marchés, parmi lesquels la Belgique
1945
Luigi Vitelli devient ELVEA
1986
Charlier Brabo Group prend le relais de la distribution d’ELVEA
1992
ELVEA innove : Cubetti
2001
ELVEA lance un nouveau slogan
2010
ELVEA existe depuis 125 ans
2013
ELVEA innove : Pizza a casa
2015
ELVEA existe depuis 130 ans
2016
Boutique Pop-Up ELVEA
2017
Elvea n’a de cesse d’évoluer.
1885
Les conserves italiennes conquièrent le marché américain
A peine débarqués aux États-Unis en provenance de leur village natal Torre del Greco, les frères italiens Luigi et Francesco Vitelli se languirent très vite, tout comme bien d’autres émigrants italiens, des habitudes et produits alimentaires et culinaires typiques de leur mère patrie. C’est pourquoi ils lancèrent dès 1885 l’importation de conserves provenant d’Italie du Sud.
 
1900
La marque Luigi Vitelli
La marque Luigi Vitelli
Au début des années 1900, Luigi retourne en Italie, provoquant ainsi la scission des activités de la fratrie et l’apparition de « Francesco Vitelli & figlio » d’une part, et de « Luigi e figli » d’autre part.  Ensuite apparut également la marque « Luigi Vitelli » (qui devait plus tard devenir ELVEA).
 
1919
Luigi démarre la construction d’une usine de transformation de tomates
Luigi démarre la construction d’une usine de transformation de tomates
En 1919, Luigi démarre la construction d’une petite, mais néanmoins moderne, usine de transformation de tomates dans les environs de Portici. Quelques années plus tard, en 1923, l’ensemble de la production déménageait vers une usine ultra-moderne à Angri. Elle était spécialisée dans la mise en boîte de tomates ’San Marzano’. On y transformait presque la totalité de la récolte locale, entre autres grâce au travail acharné des fils de Luigi Vitelli, Arturo et Guiseppe.
 
1929
La crise économique force la conquête de nouveaux marchés, parmi lesquels la Belgique
La crise économique force la conquête de nouveaux marchés, parmi lesquels la Belgique
Les droits à l’importation élevés des États-Unis, conséquence de la crise économique de 1929, mènent la vie dure aux frères Vitelli. Ils décident donc de conquérir de nouveaux marchés. Grâce à la haute qualité de leurs produits, ils ont été en mesure d’élargir effectivement leur réseau de distribution italien. D’importantes quantités de conserves ont été exportées vers l’Afrique et différents pays européens, dont la Belgique.
1945
Luigi Vitelli devient ELVEA
Luigi Vitelli devient ELVEA
En juin 1945, ’LUIGI VITELLI & fils’ est rebaptisé ELVEA s.p.A, un acronyme pour Luigi Vitelli Angri. C’est après la guerre que la société de transport L. Ghemar se lance en Belgique dans la distribution et le transport des tomates ELVEA. Ce succès a permis à l’entreprise de se développer et d’ériger plusieurs filiales. L’une d’entre elles, se trouvant à Anvers (Tocofru NV), devint dès lors distributeur exclusif pour le Benelux.
1986
Charlier Brabo Group prend le relais de la distribution d’ELVEA
Charlier Brabo Group prend le relais de la distribution d’ELVEA
Après le décès de Monsieur A. Ghemar en 1982, l’entreprise a dans un premier temps poursuivi ses activités sous la direction de son épouse qui présentait les mêmes dispositions commerciales. Mais lorsqu’elle décède en 1986, la société Tocofru NV est reprise par la société Charlier Brabo Group, une entreprise familiale en pleine expansion qui gère encore aujourd’hui la distribution des produits ELVEA en Belgique.
 
1992
ELVEA innove : Cubetti
ELVEA innove : Cubetti
Est venu le temps où le consommateur a souhaité pouvoir préparer rapidement des repas naturels, sains et variés. ELVEA n’a pas tardé à proposer la solution idéale : ELVEA Cubetti. Aux célèbres cubes de tomates déjà existants se sont ajoutés différents ingrédients naturels pour les aromatiser. Ce nouveau produit prêt à l’emploi et déjà assaisonné a permis de répondre à la demande du consommateur de l’époque.

Actuellement, les ELVEA Cubetti sont disponibles en 7 goûts différents : ail, mélange d’épices italiennes, poivrons, basilic, légumes frais, arrabbiata et puttanesca. Quoi de mieux pour donner du peps à vos pâtes, pizzas, riz, volaille, plats de poisson et viande ?
2001
ELVEA lance un nouveau slogan
Des discussions de groupe avec des « acheteurs » ont révélé qu’ELVEA en tant que marque manquait de popularité. Et ce malgré la présence d’ELVEA sur le marché belge depuis de longues années. Ces mêmes « acheteurs » ont toutefois admis utiliser régulièrement « cette petite conserve bleue ». Dès lors cette réflexion a été à la base du slogan adopté par ELVEA : « Vos meilleures tomates sont bleues »
 
2010
ELVEA existe depuis 125 ans
ELVEA existe depuis 125 ans
En l’an 2010, ELVEA fêtait son 125e anniversaire. Toute l’année, la marque a lancé un grand nombre de chouettes actions : l’amateur d’ELVEA a été invité à envoyer une recette à base de la toute dernière nouveauté d’ELVEA, la Polpa di pomodore. Les 25 meilleures recettes ont été compilées dans un livre de recettes de qualité distribué gratuitement à tous les fans ELVEA ayant participé au concours. Ceux qui le souhaitaient pouvaient ensuite eux aussi obtenir le livre de recettes grâce à une action d’épargne dans les points de distribution.
 
2013
ELVEA innove : Pizza a casa
ELVEA innove : Pizza a casa
La marque de tomates ne s’arrête pas là et lance « Pizza a Casa » comme base idéale pour une pizza maison. Le nouveau produit connait depuis lors un énorme succès auprès des amateurs de pizza, qu’ils soient grands ou petits.
2015
ELVEA existe depuis 130 ans
ELVEA existe depuis 130 ans
ELVEA fait à nouveau la fête avec de nombreuses chouettes actions consommateur, des nouveautés, mais aussi un site Web flambant neuf. En 2015, la gamme ELVEA est composée d’environ 40 produits différents. Le résultat d’innovation constante au fil des ans. La marque 100 % italienne est dès lors sans conteste « numero uno » en Belgique dans la catégorie conserve de tomates.

Le 130e anniversaire d’ELVEA a été l’occasion de lancer la Selezione del Maestro, une édition limitée se composant de trois produits à base de tomates de qualité supérieure au goût encore plus intense et gourmand. Les tomates utilisées ont été amoureusement sélectionnées et cueillies sous le soleil italien à l’attention des fans d’ELVEA les plus fidèles.
 
2016
Boutique Pop-Up ELVEA
Boutique Pop-Up ELVEA
ELVEA clôture son 130e anniversaire en beauté ! En décembre 2015, la marque ouvre une Boutique Pop-Up ELVEA exclusive dans la salle des fêtes communale d’Anvers. Pendant 3 mois, cette Boutique a trôné en plein milieu de ce splendide centre commercial. L’ensemble de la gamme ELVEA existante y était disponible, tout comme la gamme exclusive ELVEA Selezione del maestro. Cette gamme en édition limitée était présentée dans un emballage cadeau luxueux. 
 
2017
Elvea n’a de cesse d’évoluer.
Elvea n’a de cesse d’évoluer.
Un tout nouveau design pour les étiquettes Elvea!

Elvea, le leader du marché dans la catégorie tomates, a estimé que le moment était venu de lancer un design innovant. Les nouvelles étiquettes combinées au logo sont du plus bel effet. Les couleurs identifiables rouge et bleu, intégrées dans l’étiquette, apportent davantage de quiétude, tandis que les photos de produits réels entraînent une plus grande expérience. Le lien avec l’Italie a gagné en clarté et référence est faite à notre patrimoine et notre tomatier «Luigi Vitelli». En outre, la marque se profile de manière plus uniforme que jamais dans les rayonnages. Et saviez-vous que la ligne jaune sur la partie supérieure de nos boîtes de conserve évoque le soleil italien éternellement radieux? Car c’est précisément ce soleil méridional d’Italie qui confère une irrésistible saveur pleine à vos meilleures tomates.